Next Research Leaders Program cohort selected

Research Leaders Program

Heidi Uhing, September 7, 2021

Next Research Leaders Program cohort selected

Fifteen University of Nebraska-Lincoln faculty members have been selected to participate in the second cohort of the Office of Research and Economic Development’s Research Leaders Program. This initiative to identify and develop Nebraska’s next generation of research leaders is in partnership with the Center for Professional and Executive Development in the College of Business. 

Participants were selected through a competitive application process. The 2021-22 Research Leaders Program faculty are: 

  • Dawne Curry, history. 
  • Mike Dodd, psychology. 
  • Brittany Duncan, computer science and engineering. 
  • Hernan Garcia-Ruiz, plant pathology. 
  • Patricio Grassini, agronomy and horticulture. 
  • Xia Hong, physics and astronomy. 
  • Santosh Pitla, biological systems engineering. 
  • Amanda Ramer-Tait, food science and technology. 
  • Rebecca Roston, biochemistry. 
  • Zhenghong Tang, community and regional planning. 
  • Jian Wang, mechanical and materials engineering. 
  • Eric Weaver, biological sciences. 
  • Adrian Wisnicki, English. 
  • Hongfeng Yu, computer science and engineering. 
  • Limei Zhang, biochemistry. 

These research-active faculty will learn the information, skills and connections needed to assemble and lead teams in the pursuit of major extramural funding. The program begins Sept. 10 and will conclude in April, when participants will present their plans for elevating their research, scholarship or creative activity to their colleagues and university leaders. 

Bob Wilhelm, vice chancellor for research and economic development, said the program will help create a campus culture that is committed to increasing the impact of research and creative activity, a key aim of the N2025 strategic plan. 

“This is a great opportunity for faculty to further develop their strengths and leadership capacity. We look forward to seeing how it will accelerate participants’ research and, ultimately, positively impact Nebraska and the world. Congratulations to those selected for this year’s Research Leaders Program.” 

Nathan Meier, assistant vice chancellor for research, said the program appears to be the first leadership development program in the Big Ten to focus on research and among the earliest nationally. He gave a panel presentation on the program at the spring conference of the National Organization of Research Development Professionals and received positive feedback. 

“There was a lot of interest from my colleagues at other institutions across the country. They said, ‘We could never do this.’ What sets us apart at Nebraska is that we’re right-sized for these types of initiatives. ORED is fortunate to be able to provide resources like this to support the success of our incredible faculty.” 

Applications for the 2022-23 cohort will be solicited in spring 2022. Visit the Research Leaders Program website for more details or contact Nathan Meier

Research Leaders Program