Inaugural winners of diversity, equity, inclusion awards announced

The university’s first recipients of the Nebraska Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Impact awards were celebrated on April 20.

The awards recognize individuals and groups that actively advance diversity, equity and inclusion in transformative and sustainable ways at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln. The recipients of the 2021-22 awards are:

Diversity Leadership Faculty Award — Stephanie Bondi, associate professor of practice in educational administration (College of Education and Human Sciences);

Diversity Leadership Staff Award — Marianna Burks, instructor of biological sciences and science specialist with Student Support Services and TRIO Programs;

Promising Leader Award — Batool Ibrahim, junior, political science major;

Promising Leader Award — Brooke Wells, graduate student, agricultural leadership, education and communication; and

Collective Impact Award — Bureau of Sociological Research.