UNL faculty named AMS fellows

jbrehm2, November 12, 2012 | View original publication

UNL faculty named AMS fellows

Six University of Nebraska-Lincoln professors are among the accomplished mathematicians from around the world who have been invited to join a prestigious national organization's inaugural class of fellows.

         The recently announced first class of American Mathematical Society fellows includes individuals who are members of the society who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and use of mathematics. The society has a total membership of more than 30,000. The inaugural class includes 1,119 fellows representing more than 600 institutions.

         The society has extended the honor to the following UNL scholars:

         Luchezar Avramov, College Professor, Dale M. Jensen Chair in Mathematics — One of the top commutative algebraists in the world, Avramov has given more than 130 talks in 25 countries and has published 100 research papers. He has had 17 doctoral students. His research has been continuously funded by the National Science Foundation since coming to the United States in 1991 from his native Bulgaria. Avramov was named the Dale Jensen Chair in Mathematics when he joined the faculty in 2002.

         Jim Lewis, Douglas Professorship in Mathematics, and Director of UNL's Center for Science, Mathematics and Computer Education — In more than 40 years at UNL, Lewis has established a distinguished reputation locally and nationally as a dedicated and inspiring educator. He has led efforts to build partnerships with Nebraska school districts to significantly enhance the mathematical education of K-12 teachers and has attracted more than $18 million in grants to support teacher-training programs. Among many honors across his career, he was named the Nebraska Professor of the Year in 2010 by the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education.

         David Manderscheid, Professor of Mathematics and Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences — An internationally recognized number theorist, Manderscheid has won numerous awards for his teaching. He has held visiting positions at the University of Paris, the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, N.J., and the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute in Berkeley, Calif. He also serves on the board of directors of the Council of Colleges of Arts and Sciences.

         Judy Walker, Douglas Professor and Chair of the Department of Mathematics — Walker, a national leader in mathematics, is a past recipient of the Haimo Award recognizing her as one of the nation's most outstanding mathematics teachers. Her research in coding theory has been continuously funded by the National Science Foundation. She has attracted more than $4.8 million in NSF grants to support the department's Mentoring through Critical Transition Points program.

         Roger Wiegand, Emeritus Cather Professor of Mathematics — Wiegand joined the UNL mathematics faculty in 1972. During his career he has received 19 grants from the National Science Foundation and two grants from the National Security Agency to support his research into commutative algebra. He also is responsible for more than $2.2 million in grants from the U.S. Department of Education to support graduate education in mathematics.

         Sylvia Wiegand, Emeritus Professor of Mathematics — Wiegand has also been a major contributor to UNL's commutative algebra group, regarded as one of the strongest research groups in the world on the topic. She has been a prominent national leader in the mathematics profession, serving as national president of the Association for Women in Mathematics and an elected member of the Council of the American Mathematical Society.

         For more details on the fellows program, visit www.ams.org/profession/ams-fellows.