Research Council seeks 2018-2019 Nebraska Lecture nominations

News for Researchers

Posted February 1, 2018 by Ashley Washburn

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s Research Council is seeking nominations for faculty to present the Nebraska Lectures in fall 2018 and spring 2019. Nominations are due 5 p.m. March 12.

The Nebraska Lectures: Chancellor’s Distinguished Lecture Series features high-profile presentations by distinguished university faculty members. The purpose of the lecture series is to showcase significant achievements and contributions by university faculty, foster communication among faculty and students across disciplines and address topics of public interest in an engaging, accessible format. The Nebraska Lectures attract a wide audience, including the local community and members of the Nebraska Legislature.

Selection as a lecturer is the highest recognition the Research Council bestows on an individual faculty member.

Faculty and staff are encouraged to nominate candidates for 2018-2019. Selection is based on major recent accomplishments that support a distinguished record and the nominee’s ability to communicate to an interdisciplinary audience. Nominees should be nationally or internationally prominent in their fields. More information is available on the Research Council website.

Recent lecturers and their topics were Matthew Waite, professor of practice in journalism and mass communications, “The Drone Age is Here, and We’re Screwing It Up,” and Kwame Dawes, Chancellor’s Professor of English and Glenna Luschei Editor of Prairie Schooner, “When ‘They’ Becomes ‘Me’: Responsibility and Action in Literary Activism: The Case of the African Poetry Book Fund.”

Andrew Jewell, professor of University Libraries, will present the spring 2018 lecture, “Our Cather Heritage,” at 3:30 p.m. March 26 in the Nebraska Union auditorium.

To nominate a faculty member, email nomination materials to Mari Greer, administrative coordinator, Office of Research and Economic Development. Nominations should include:

All nominations are confidential. The Research Council and the interim vice chancellor for research and economic development will select the lecturers, who will be notified immediately afterward.

Back to News for Researchers