Accolades, February 2024

Accolades News for Researchers

Posted February 29, 2024 by Tiffany Lee

Honors and Recognitions

Judy Diamond, University Libraries and University of Nebraska State Museum, received the Enduring Achievement Award from the Center for Advancing Research Impact in Society, known as ARIS. The award recognizes a body of exemplary work over time by individuals or organizations undertaking work focused on research engagement and translation for impact. Diamond was recognized for her efforts across her career to enhance informal science education, broaden participation, increase public science literacy and advance innovative approaches to realize the broader impacts of science and scientific research. She will be recognized at the ARIS Summit in April in Omaha.

Amanda Gonzales, accountancy, and Julie Uribe, Johnny Carson School of Theater and Film, teach an accounting class, Research and Communication in Accounting, that received a Curricular Innovation Award from the MidAmerican Business Deans Association. The course empowers future accountants to communicate effectively in the workplace through writing, research and improvisational techniques. The association also honored the Inclusive Business Leaders program in the College of Business with an Innovation in Business Education Award.

Jason Griffiths, architecture, received a Design-Build Award from the Association of the Collegiate Schools of Architecture. These awards honor best practices in school-based design-build projects. Griffiths was recognized for “The Mizer’s Ruin,” a 190-square-foot dwelling that develops a low-carbon fabrication system through local forestry production. The project enabled Husker graduate and undergraduate architecture students to participate in research and engage with professional consultants, forestry specialists, academics and project user groups. The Design-Build Awards are part of ACSA’s Architectural Education Award Winners program.    

Alexandra Seceleanu, mathematics, received the Ruth I. Michler Memorial Prize from the Association for Women in Mathematics and Cornell University. The prize is awarded annually to a woman recently promoted to associate professor or an equivalent position in the mathematical sciences. The prize includes a fellowship that supports the awardee spending a semester in Cornell’s mathematics department without teaching obligations. Seceleanu focuses her research on the theoretical and computational aspects of commutative algebra and has received support from the National Science Foundation for her work.

John Shrader, sports media and communication, received an Award of Excellence at the Broadcast Education Association’s Festival of Media Arts. He was honored in the faculty sports radio category for “A New Generation of American Soccer Broadcasting,” which explores the changing nature of American soccer broadcasting. The festival is the preeminent international media competition focused on student and faculty creative endeavors. In addition to Shrader’s honor, Clare Arter, a senior journalism major, earned second place in the student public service announcement, promo or commercial category for “Winter” People’s City Mission.   

Liyan Qu, electrical and computer engineering, was elected a senior member of the National Academy of Inventors. The senior member program recognizes early-stage innovators whose success in patents, licensing and commercialization is positively impacting society and economic development. Qu, the first Husker woman to receive the recognition, is an expert in developing magnetoelectric devices that facilitate improved electrical energy conversion; advanced motor and generator control methods; and technology breakthroughs in renewable energy systems. She is a named inventor on nine issued U.S. patents and has supervised seven doctoral students and five postdoctoral researchers, who have gone on to obtain positions in academia and industry.   

Fourteen Husker faculty were appointed fellows of the National Strategic Research Institute, the Department of Defense-designated University Affiliated Research Center sponsored by U.S. Strategic Command and affiliated with the University of Nebraska system. Fellows aim to build multidisciplinary teams that develop solutions for complex problems across the spectrum of chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear and explosive threats. The NSRI fellow 2024 cohort from UNL includes:    

Professional Service

Five faculty from the College of Law presented at the Association of American Law Schools annual meeting in Washington, D.C., in January.

Research News Accolades Submission Form

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

* Category of Accolade

The email address provided has already been used to submit a response to this form. If you continue, you may submit conflicting information.

If you would like to update the form responses submitted with this email address, we will send a link to the address provided.

* indicates required field

Back to News for Researchers