Research Leaders Program applicants sought

News for Researchers

Posted May 2, 2022 by Heidi Uhing

The Office of Research and Economic Development is accepting nominations and applications for the next cycle of the Research Leaders Program. The initiative seeks to identify and develop the University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s next generation of research leaders. 

In partnership with the Center for Professional and Executive Development in the College of Business, the program provides up to 15 selected faculty with the information, skills and connections they need to assemble and lead large collaborative teams and pursue major extramural funding. Eligible faculty include associate professors, research associate professors, professors (including endowed professors and chairs) and research professors.  

Throughout the academic year, the program will cover a variety of topics including recognizing strengths; strategic leadership; goal setting; effective communication; maximizing impacts; design thinking and innovation; team science; diversity and inclusive excellence; team management; and negotiation. 

Dawne Curry, associate professor of history and ethnic studies and a member of the most recent RLP cohort, identified her research vision at the program’s closing event: establishing a collaborative research colloquium of African and African American Studies in the Midwest. She called the program one of the highlights of her career. 

“The Research Leaders Program was an enriching experience where I met colleagues from across colleges and disciplines,” she said. “It taught me that no matter your field, the concepts can be applied universally. I thoroughly enjoyed the speakers and the engagement with colleagues.” 

University administrators and faculty are urged to nominate colleagues for the 2022-2023 program by 5 p.m. June 15. Eligible faculty also may apply directly; nomination is not a prerequisite for submitting an application. Applications are due by 5 p.m. June 30, and selections will be announced mid-July. For more information, visit the website or contact Nathan Meier, assistant vice chancellor for research. 

2021-2022 program participants were: 

Dawne Curry, associate professor, history and ethnic studies.  
Brittany Duncan, associate professor, School of Computing. 
Michael Dodd, associate professor of psychology. 
Hernán García-Ruiz, associate professor of virology. 
Patricio Grassini, associate professor of agronomy and horticulture. 
Xia Hong, associate professor of physics and astronomy. 
Santosh Pitla, associate professor of biological systems engineering. 
Amanda Ramer-Tait, associate professor of agriculture and natural resources.  
Rebecca Roston, associate professor of biochemistry. 
Zhenghong Tang, professor of community and regional planning.  
Jian Wang, professor of materials engineering. 
Eric Weaver, associate professor, School of Biological Sciences. 
Adrian Wisnicki, associate professor, English. 
Hongfeng Yu, associate professor, School of Computing. 
Limei Zhang, associate professor of biochemistry.  

Back to News for Researchers