Accolades, September 2019

Accolades News for Researchers

Posted October 4, 2019 by Dan Moser

Awards, Honors and Recognitions

Jocelyn Bosley, assistant director for education and outreach for the Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, was selected as an IF/THEN Ambassador by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Launched in March, the IF/THEN initiative seeks to help women advance in science, technology, engineering and math by elevating the voices of women currently working in the STEM fields and inspiring the next generation of pioneers.

Cody Creech, a dryland cropping systems specialist with the Panhandle Research and Extension Center, was awarded the 2019 Early Career Award from the Crop Science Society of America for outstanding contributions to agronomy through education, national and international service and research.

John Carroll, professor of natural resources, has been reappointed to serve another five-year term as director of the School of Natural Resources. The action, announced by the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, follows a planned five-year review of the leadership position.

Harkamal Walia, associate professor of agronomy and horticulture and Daugherty Water for Food Global Institute faculty fellow, was recently appointed Heuermann Chair of both organizations. The honorary title was awarded by the Office of the Chancellor and IANR. Walia has been an active DWFI faculty fellow for eight years, with a primary research interest in improving the genetics of wheat and rice to make them more resilient to climate changes.

Lisa Franzen-Castle, associate professor of nutrition and health sciences, has been honored by the Society for Nutrition Education and Behavior with the Early Professional Achievement Award. Franzen-Castle received the award for her notable contributions to the field of nutrition early in her career.

Bob Harveson, extension plant pathologist at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln Panhandle Research and Extension Center, has been awarded the Distinguished Service Award from the American Phytopathological Society’s North Central Division. The award recognizes outstanding effort or contribution in teaching, control of a significant plant disease or service to the science of plant pathology in an effort that goes beyond the recipient’s job or responsibility.

Joe Louis, associate professor of entomology, has received an Early Career Innovation Award from the Entomological Society of America. The Early Career Innovation Award honors young professionals working within the field of entomology who have demonstrated innovation through contributions within areas of specialization such as research, teaching or extension. Louis’ research at Nebraska identifies key components, genes and signaling mechanisms involved in modulating plants’ defenses against insects, as well the mechanisms by which insect salivary proteins and effectors alter plant defense responses.

Helen Raikes, Willa Cather Professor of child, youth and family studies, has been honored with the Louise Pound-George Howard Distinguished Career Award by Nebraska’s Faculty Senate. The Pound-Howard award is given annually to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service and commitment to the university.

Marilyn C. Wolf, professor of computer science and engineering, has been appointed chair of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering effective Sept. 1. She succeeds Steve Goddard, who served two terms as department chair from 2018 to 2019 and from 2008 to 2013. Witawas Srisa-an, associate professor of computer science and engineering, had been interim chair since May.

Publishing Awards

Kelsy Burke, assistant professor of sociology, and Emily Kazyak, associate professor of sociology and women’s and gender studies, published an article in the American Sociological Association journal Socius that was among the top 50 most downloaded papers on the site in 2018. The article, “Logics of Freedom: Debating Religious Freedom Laws and Gay and Lesbian Rights,” uses data from a general population survey of Nebraskans as a mixed-methods case study to examine public opinion of religious freedom laws.

James Potter, emeritus professor of architecture, is a featured writer in “Votes For Women: The 19th Amendment in Nebraska,” a special edition of Nebraska History Magazine. The anthology, published by University of Nebraska Press, features past articles about women’s suffrage in Nebraska alongside new content and illustrations. Potter’s article, “Barkley vs. Pool: Woman Suffrage and the Nebraska Referendum Law,” examines how two women used the courts to defeat an anti-suffragist attempt to derail the Cornhusker State’s 1917 limited suffrage law.

Research News Accolades Submission Form

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

* Category of Accolade

The email address provided has already been used to submit a response to this form. If you continue, you may submit conflicting information.

If you would like to update the form responses submitted with this email address, we will send a link to the address provided.

* indicates required field

Back to News for Researchers