Accolades, September 2018

Accolades News for Researchers

Posted September 27, 2018 by Tiffany Lee

Awards, Honors and Recognitions

Deb Cosgrove, accountancy, received the Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award from Beta Alpha Psi, an international honors organization for financial information students and professionals. Only five professors worldwide earned the prestigious honor.

Jan Hygnstrom, project manager with agronomy and horticulture and the Nebraska Pesticide Safety Education Program, received the Professional Recognition Award from the American Association of Pesticide Safety Educators. As project manager, Hygnstrom is lead technical writer and editor for educational materials focused on the restricted use of pesticides. The award recognized her role in revising the soon-to-be-released private applicator self-study curriculum.

Casey Kelly, communication studies, received the Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award from the National Communication Association. The award, aimed at scholars in the first 10 years of their career, is intended to foster and promote philosophical, historical or critical scholarship in rhetoric and public discourse. Kelly’s award will support completion of his book, “Apocalypse Man: White Masculinity at the End of the World.”

George Meyer, biological systems engineering, and Ellen Paparozzi, agronomy and horticulture, are part of a research team that received the 2018 Award for Excellence in Multistate Research from the Northeast Regional Association of State Agricultural Experiment Station Directors. The Nebraska pair is part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Research Service Technical Committee NE1335, which features horticulturists and biological systems engineers from 12 institutions. The research team conducts experiments using controlled-environment systems such as hydroponics, aquaponics and vertical farms.

Clyde Ogg, a Nebraska Extension educator in agronomy and horticulture, received a Fellow Award from the American Association of Pesticide Safety Educators. The award is the organization’s highest recognition, honoring superior service and achievement in pesticide safety education, certification and public service. Ogg is currently a coordinator in the Nebraska Pesticide Safety Educators Program and leads a seven-member team that develops educational materials related to pesticide safety.

Stacie Ray, special education and communication disorders, was one of three finalists for the 2018 Inspire Award for Excellence in Education. Ray was selected as a finalist from among 15 nominations for her teaching and clinical work as an audiologist in the Barkley Speech Language and Hearing Clinic, and her management of three of Nebraska’s hearing aid banks – Sertoma, Lions and HearU Nebraska. The annual Inspire Awards, sponsored by the Lincoln Journal Star, honor women who excel professionally and serve as leaders and role models in their fields.

Professional Involvement

Tracy Frank, earth and atmospheric sciences, was named vice president of the International Association of Sedimentologists. The association promotes the study of sedimentology and integration with other disciplines.

Lauren Gatti, teaching, learning and teacher education, will serve as a visiting scholar at Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, Oct. 17-29. With her colleague Paula McAvoy of North Carolina State University, Gatti will conduct public lectures, professional development workshops and seminars on their current book project, “Just Teacher: Ethical Dilemmas in the Profession of Teaching.” She also will present lectures and seminars based on her recent book, “Toward a Framework of Resources for Learning to Teach: Rethinking U.S. Teacher Preparation.”

Holly Hatton-Bowers, child, youth and family studies and an early childhood specialist with Nebraska Extension, presented her early childhood research at the Federal Rural University of Pernambuco in Recife, Brazil, during the summer. She shared promising evidence from an eight-week program, “Cultivating Healthy Intentional Mindful Educators,” that she developed with Nebraska Extension educators LaDonna Werth, Jaci Foged and Carrie Gottschalk. The program supports and enhances the well-being of early childhood professionals. She also shared a children’s yoga program and mindfulness-based preschool intervention.

Gary Kebbel, journalism and mass communications, is serving as a virtual trainer and moderator for journalists in Fiji who are reporting on a general election in October. He is moderating virtual conversations with these journalists, helping them learn to effectively cover elections and use social media. The role is part of Kebbel’s membership in the U.S. State Department Speaker Program on Reporting on Elections.

Yi Qian, electrical and computer engineering, was selected to serve as editor-in-chief of IEEE Wireless Communications, one of the top journals in the field of wireless communications, telecommunications and computer networks. Qian, selected from among a global pool of applicants, will be responsible for assigning papers to editors for review, writing an editorial for each issue and overseeing the work of the publications staff.

Publishing Honors

Brett Ratcliffe, entomology, published a book, “A Monographic Revision of the Genus Gymnetis MacLeay, 1819.” The book provides comprehensive information about this genus of flower and fruit beetles, including descriptions of new species.

Other News

Chuck Hibberd was reappointed as dean and director of Nebraska Extension for another five-year term. Since taking the role of Nebraska Extension dean in October 2012, he has adopted a new strategic team structure to address 18 client-identified issues facing Nebraskans. This approach has paved the way for Extension to become a more demand-driven and interdisciplinary resource for the state. Hibberd’s reappointment comes after a planned five-year review.

Martha Mamo was named head of the Department of Agronomy and Horticulture, effective Jan. 1, 2019. Mamo, Weaver Professor of Agronomy and Horticulture, is currently interim associate department head.

Research News Accolades Submission Form

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

* Category of Accolade

The email address provided has already been used to submit a response to this form. If you continue, you may submit conflicting information.

If you would like to update the form responses submitted with this email address, we will send a link to the address provided.

* indicates required field

Back to News for Researchers