Accolades, September 2017

Accolades News for Researchers

October 1, 2017

Awards, Honors and Recognitions

Dawn O. Braithwaite, communication studies, will receive the Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award at the National Communication Association’s annual convention Nov. 16-19 in Dallas. The honor recognizes outstanding service to the association and profession through research, teaching or service.

Michael Forsberg, agricultural leadership, education and communication, received the Ansel Adams Award from the Sierra Club at a Sept. 15 awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. The award recognizes people who have used still photography to further conservation.

David Hansen, psychology, leads the Child Maltreatment Lab, which the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies selected as its inaugural featured lab. Hansen’s group explores maltreatment issues including sexual abuse, physical abuse and neglect.

Casey Kelly, communication studies, received the National Communication Association’s Early Career Award from the Rhetorical and Communication Theory Division, which honors an association member who established an innovative and robust research project within eight years of earning a doctorate.

Samuel J. Meisels, child, youth and family studies and founding executive director of the Buffett Early Childhood Institute, is the institute’s first Richard D. Holland Presidential Chair in Early Childhood Development. The presidential chair is the highest academic award and recognition the university can bestow on a faculty member.

The STEC CAP grant team, led by Rodney Moxley, veterinary medicine and biomedical sciences, was selected by the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Institute of Food and Agriculture for the NIFA Partnership Award for Mission Integration. The Coordinated Agriculture Project’s goal is to reduce public health risks from Shiga toxin-producing E. coli, or STEC, in beef. The honor recognizes the team’s excellence in carrying out NIFA’s mission to integrate research, education and extension.

Professional Involvement

Jeff Bradshaw, Panhandle Research and Extension Center, is vice president-elect of the plant-insect ecosystems section of the Entomological Society of America. The society is the largest in the world serving entomologists and individuals in related disciplines.

Valerie Jones, journalism and mass communications, was selected as a 2017 Kopenhaver Center Fellow by the Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication. The center’s mission is to empower women professionals and academics to fill leadership roles in the industry.

Katherine Walter, co-director of the Center for Digital Research in the Humanities, represented CDRH at the United States Capitol Historical Society’s 2017 Freedom Award presentation last month. The center was one of five nationally renowned programs invited to participate.

Publishing Awards

Jonis Agee, English, is author of The Bones of Paradise, which has been chosen as the Omaha Public Library’s 2017 Omaha Reads pick. The annual program focuses on one book that Omaha residents read together. Finalists are chosen via write-in suggestions, and the winner is selected by public vote.

Dawn O. Braithwaite, communication studies, received the Gerald R. Miller Book Award from the National Communication Association’s Interpersonal Communication Division. The honor recognizes the second edition of Braithwaite’s book, Engaging Theories in Interpersonal Communication: Multiple Perspectives, published in 2015.

Heng Chen, supply chain management and analytics, received the best dissertation award by the Aviation Applications Section of the Institute for Operations Research and Management Science. The award is given annually to the best dissertation in any area related to aviation operations research.

Christopher Gustafson, agricultural economics, is lead author of an article, “Consumer Sorting and Hedonic Valuation of Wine Attribution,” that was tapped as a best-of-the-year selection by the Journal of the International Association of Agricultural Economists.

Other News

Howard W. Buffett joined the Robert B. Daugherty Water for Food Global Institute’s board of directors. Buffett lectures on international food security, foreign aid and agricultural policy in the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources at Nebraska, and also is a lecturer at Columbia University. Previously, he was executive director of the Howard G. Buffett Foundation.

Research News Accolades Submission Form

You have not filled in all of the required fields. Please fill in the fields below outlined in red.

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

First Name

Last Name

Department Name

Email Address

Category of Accolade

Name of honor or award and short description

Accompanying website, if available

Back to News for Researchers