Accolades, November 2017

Accolades News for Researchers

Posted November 30, 2017 by Tiffany Lee

Awards, Honors and Recognitions

Myra Cohen, computer science and engineering, was recognized as part of the Association for Computing Machinery’s Distinguished Members list, which honors outstanding contributions from scientists in the computing and information technology fields.

Kiyomi Deards and Jennifer Thoegersen, University Libraries, received Up and Comer awards from Against the Grain Media at the Charleston Conference, Nov. 6-10 in Charleston, South Carolina. The honor recognizes rising stars in the library and information profession.

Wayne Drummond, architecture (dean emeritus), received the Distinguished Service Award from the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture. The award recognizes Drummond’s nearly 50-year career, including his work to advance faculty and students’ careers.

Robert Hutkins, food science and technology, is featured in a recent report, “Retaking the Field – Empowering Agricultural Sciences for Health,” a collaborative effort by 11 universities and the Supporters of Agricultural Research Foundation. The report highlights research projects, including Hutkins’ work on gut health, that are funded by the Agriculture and Food Research Initiative, a competitive grant program through the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Institute of Food and Agriculture.

Jamie Loizzo, agricultural leadership, education and communication, received a Burmeister Award from the Association for Educational Communications and Technology’s Division of Distance Learning. The annual award honors a DDL-submitted presentation that is an example of best practices in distance education or leads to improved distance education.

Nathan Mueller, Nebraska Extension, was named one of 10 exceptional extension specialists nationwide by Successful Farming. Mueller developed Crop Tech Café, an agronomy blog where farmers can hear from experts, ask questions and chat with neighbors.

John Raible, teaching, learning and teacher education, received the G. Pritchy Smith Multicultural Educator Award from the National Association for Multicultural Education. The award honors educators who strive to teach others about multicultural education.

Leah Sandall, distance education coordinator for agronomy and horticulture, received the 2017 Extension Educational Materials Program Certificate of Excellence from the American Society of Agronomy. The award honors outstanding agronomic educational materials.

Mila Saskova-Pierce, modern languages and literatures (emeritus), was named honorary Czech consulate for Nebraska by Gov. Pete Ricketts and Czech Republic Ambassador Hynek Kmonicek. In this role, she will promote Czech culture in Nebraska and serve in a dignitary role when Czech officials visit the state.

Brian Wilson, online and distance education, and Christina Yao, educational administration, received a 2017 Online Learning Consortium Effective Practice Award. The award honors Wilson and Yao’s efforts to develop the Student Success Center, an early orientation for online students in the Department of Educational Administration.

Four University of Nebraska-Lincoln faculty were named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world’s largest general scientific society. Fellows are selected by peers for scientifically or socially distinguished achievements that advance science or its application. Nebraska’s new AAAS fellows are:

Professional Involvement

Kathy Pinkerton, Institutional Animal Care Program, received the Certified Professional in IACUC Administration certification, which requires passing an extensive exam that covers a wide range of topics from different regulatory agencies involved in Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee issues and animal research.

Saravanan Raju, computer science and engineering, was awarded the Jane N. Ryland Fellowship by EDUCAUSE, the largest association of professionals in technology committed to advancing higher education. The fellowship is designed to help build future leaders in computing and information technology at higher education institutions.

Brad Roth, NUtech Ventures, presented “Plant Variety Protection: Practical Strategies for Use and Litigation” with R. Scott Johnson and Caitlin M. Andersen, legal counsel from McKee, Voorhees and Sease, at the American Agricultural Law Association meeting in Louisville, Kentucky.

Eric Thompson, economics and director of the Bureau of Business Research, was elected to the board of the Association for University Business and Economic Research. The group’s mission is to improve the quality of research in business, economics and public policy.

Stephanie Totten, Institutional Animal Care Program, passed the Assistant Laboratory Animal Technician exam and received ALAT certification through the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science. This certification demonstrates her knowledge in animal care, research concepts and basic IACUC principles.

Publishing Awards

Justin Chase Brown, scholarships and financial aid, was guest editor for the fall 2017 edition of the Journal of Student Financial Aid, a peer-reviewed publication highlighting significant works in areas of postsecondary financial assistance. The issue focused on catalyzing research partnerships with practitioners and researchers.

Becky Faber, Career Services, received the Research and Publications Award at the 2017 American Association for Employment in Education conference. The recognition honors her work as an editor for the AAEE Job Search Handbook.

Other News

Kathy Farrell was named permanent dean of the College of Business, pending approval by the Board of Regents. She has served as the college’s interim dean for nearly a year, and has been a faculty member since 1993. Farrell’s teaching focus is on corporate finance and banking, and her primary research interests include executive compensation, executive turnover and succession, and other corporate governance issues. She has a doctorate in finance from the University of Georgia and a Bachelor of Business Administration in accounting and finance from Kent State University.

Research News Accolades Submission Form

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

* Category of Accolade

The email address provided has already been used to submit a response to this form. If you continue, you may submit conflicting information.

If you would like to update the form responses submitted with this email address, we will send a link to the address provided.

* indicates required field

Back to News for Researchers