Accolades, May 2019

Accolades News for Researchers

Posted May 30, 2019 by Ashley Washburn

Awards, Honors and Recognition

Richard Moberly, dean of the University of Nebraska College of Law, became interim executive vice chancellor at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln on June 1. He succeeds Donde Plowman, who was named chancellor of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Moberly, the Richard C. and Catherine S. Schmoker Professor of Law, has taught at Nebraska since 2004 and became dean in April 2017. Anna W. Shavers, Cline Williams Professor of Citizenship Law and associate dean for diversity and inclusion for the college, will serve as acting dean of law while Moberly is the university’s chief academic officer.

Claire Stewart was named the new dean of University Libraries effective Aug. 1, pending Board of Regents approval. She will also hold a continuous appointment as professor in the libraries. Stewart comes to Nebraska from the University of Minnesota, where she serves as associate university librarian for research and learning. Previously, Stewart held several positions at Northwestern University over a 21-year period, including director of the Center for Scholarly Communication and Digital Curation and head of Digital Collections. Stewart’s scholarly interests include information policy and curation structures.

John Beghin has been named the Michael Yanney Chair of International Trade and Finance by the Clayton Yeutter Institute of International Trade and Finance. The Yanney Chair will reside in the agricultural economics department and serve as a core faculty member of the Yeutter Institute. Beghin is a professor of agricultural and resource economics at North Carolina State University.

Jane Hanson, Programs in English as a Second Language, received the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award for her volunteer work in gifted education as a Mensa Foundation Trustee. The award goes to individuals who complete more than 4,000 hours of service. Hanson has been a trustee with the Mensa Foundation since 2013, assisting with the group’s national scholarship program and serving as a member of the Gifted Advocacy initiative.

A new study from Regina Werum, sociology, and collaborator Christina Steidl from the University of Alabama-Huntsville, on connections between the U.S. military and STEM careers was featured in the National Science Foundation’s annual STEM for All Video Showcase, featuring more than 240 innovative projects funded by NSF and other federal agencies.

The Environmental Studies program recently earned national recognition as among the Best of Green Schools from the U.S. Building Council’s Center for Green Schools and received the Higher Education Institution Award for its ongoing partnership with Lincoln Public Schools to conduct waste audits for elementary, middle and high school buildings.

Nebraska’s Primarily Math program — which is reconfiguring the way mathematics is taught and learned in schools statewide — earned a People’s Choice Award in NSF’s “We Are Mathematics” competition to showcase NSF-supported work in math and statistics education. Principal investigators for the Nebraska Math grant include Jim Lewis, Ruth Heaton, Tom McGowan, Carolyn Edwards, Walt Stroup and Ira Papick. Representing Lincoln Public Schools is Jadi Miller. The program is organized by the Nebraska Center for Science, Mathematics and Computer Education.

Professional Involvement

Joy Castro, Willa Cather Professor of English and ethnic studies, has been selected for the National Endowment for the Humanities’ Summer Scholar program, which provides an avenue for faculty to collaborate with experts in humanities disciplines. She will participate in the four-week Institute, “José Martí and the Immigrant Communities of Florida in Cuban Independence and the Dawn of the American Century,” at the University of Tampa.

Ian Borden, theater studies, will travel to Spain to teach stage combat and choreograph fights for a production of “Numancia.” Borden will teach at the Escuela Pública de Formación Cultural de Andalucía, a theater training program in the city of Malaga.

Publication Honors

Jenna Finch, psychology, has received the 2019 Paul R. Pintrich Outstanding Dissertation Award from the American Psychological Association. Finch was honored for her dissertation “Executive Functions in Elementary School: Contextual Influences and Links to Adaptive Functioning.” She will be recognized at the association’s Division 15 Business Meeting in August and will deliver a keynote address at its 2020 annual convention.

ThanhVu Nguyen, computer science and engineering, has received the International Conference on Software Engineering 2019 Most Influential Paper Award. Nguyen co-authored the paper, “Automatically Finding Patches Using Genetic Programming,” in 2009. ICSE’s annual award recognizes the paper that has had the most influence on the theory or practice of software engineering during the 10 years since its original publication.

Research News Accolades Submission Form

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

* Category of Accolade

The email address provided has already been used to submit a response to this form. If you continue, you may submit conflicting information.

If you would like to update the form responses submitted with this email address, we will send a link to the address provided.

* indicates required field

Back to News for Researchers