Accolades, May 2017

Accolades News for Researchers

May 31, 2017

Awards, Honors and Recognitions

Christos Argyropoulos, electrical and computer engineering, was named an Office of Naval Research Fellow. He will spend 10 weeks this summer at the Naval Research Laboratory in Washington, D.C. He also received a Young Scientist Award from URSI, the International Union of Radio Science.

Edgar Cahoon, biochemistry, will receive an honorary doctorate from the faculty of landscape architecture, horticulture and crop production science at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences.

Chris Calkins, animal science, and Jeyam Subbiah, biological systems engineering, received the Innovation Business of the Year award from the Nebraska Business Development Center for their faculty startup company, Goldfinch Solutions.

Bill Frakes, Joe Starita and Rebekka Schlichting, journalism and mass communications, were faculty editors for “The Wounds of Whiteclay: Nebraska’s Shameful Legacy,” which received the grand prize at the Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards. The university’s 11 student journalists who produced the depth report were the first-ever collegiate group to win the top honor.

John Hibbing and Kevin Smith, political science, are among the top 20 most central political science authors in the world, according to a study published in PS: Political Science and Politics.

Fred Luthans, management (emeritus), received the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Organizational Behavior Division of the Academy of Management for his significant career accomplishments, which include co-founding the organizational behavior approach to management.

Maria Marron, dean of journalism and mass communications, received the L.J. Hortin Distinguished Alumna Award from the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University. Marron is the first alumnus with a doctorate to receive the award.

Julia McQuillan, sociology, was named the 2018 Distinguished Feminist Lecturer by the Sociologists for Women in Society. She will present lectures at the summer SWS meeting and on two campuses where scholars with a feminist perspective are unusual and/or unwelcome. McQuillan’s lecture will be reprinted in Gender & Society.

Xiao Cheng Zeng, chemistry, received the 2017 Surfaces and Interfaces Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry for his innovative research on the behavior of chemical systems at surfaces or interfaces.

Tian Zhang, civil engineering, is a recipient of the State-of-the-Art of Civil Engineering Award from the American Society of Civil Engineers. This honor recognizes individuals who review and interpret emerging scientific and technical information for the benefit of the profession.

At the Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts Honors Day in April, college administrators honored three faculty with research-related awards:

Professional Involvement

Simanti Banerjee, agricultural economics, was elected chair of the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association’s Committee on Women in Agricultural Economics.

Stefanie Pearlman and Kevin Ruser, law, were appointed by Nebraska Supreme Court Chief Justice Michael Heavican to the newly created Access to Justice Commission, which aims to promote fair, swift justice for all Nebraskans.

Publishing Awards

Massimiliano Pierobon, computer science and engineering, was named the 2017 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers’ INFOCOM Best Paper Award runner-up for “A Parity Check Analog Decoder for Molecular Communication Based on Biological Circuits.” Only two papers are selected for distinction at the conference.

Robert Denicola, law, co-authored “Copyright, Unfair Competition, and Related Topics Bearing on the Protection of Works of Authorship,” 12th edition, which recently was published.

Sarah Thomas Karle and David Karle, architecture, published a book, “Conserving the Dust Bowl: The New Deal’s Prairie States Forestry Project,” which explores Franklin D. Roosevelt’s 1930’s “shelterbelt” project from a landscape infrastructure perspective.

Brian Lepard, law, published a new book, “Reexamining Customary International Law,” which investigates complex issues surrounding the history, theory and practice of customary international law.

Other Noteworthy Accomplishments

Gwen Bachman, biological sciences, was named interim director of the University Honors Program. A search for a permanent director will begin in fall 2017. Patrice Berger, program leader since 1986, is retiring June 30.

Mark Riley, biological systems engineering, was named associate dean for research in the College of Engineering. His post begins July 1.

Research News Accolades Submission Form

You have not filled in all of the required fields. Please fill in the fields below outlined in red.

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

First Name

Last Name

Department Name

Email Address

Category of Accolade

Name of honor or award and short description

Accompanying website, if available

Back to News for Researchers