Accolades, March 2018

Accolades News for Researchers

Posted March 30, 2018 by Ashley Washburn

Awards, Honors and Recognitions

Elvira Abrica, educational administration, was named an American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education faculty fellow, an honor granted to non-tenured faculty who contribute to a defined area of scholarship and demonstrate an ability to enhance Latinas and Latinos in higher education. Abrica’s research focuses on race, ethnicity and migrant status across a variety of contexts, including community colleges, the STEM fields and institutional research and assessment. She was honored at the association’s annual conference in Irvine, California, March 8-10.

Yufeng Ge and Derek Heeren, biological systems engineering, received the New Holland Young Researcher Award and the A.W. Farrall Young Educator Award, respectively, from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Both are early career awards open to ASABE members under age 40. The Holland award recognizes excellence in using scientific methodology to seek facts or principles significant to agricultural engineering, while the Farrall award highlights the outstanding application of engineering principles to problems in agricultural engineering. Ge and Heeren will be honored at ASABE’s annual meeting in Detroit, July 29-Aug. 1.

Jeff Golus, research manager at the West Central Research and Extension Center, received the 2018 Carl A. Donaldson Award from the University Association for Administrative Development. The award honors excellent leadership from a managerial/professional employee at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Tiffany Heng-Moss, entomology and associate dean of the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, received one of two Chancellor’s Outstanding Contribution to Women Awards at the Women’s History Month Banquet March 15. The award recognizes efforts to create a climate that encourages women to succeed at the university. Rae Thomas, a graduate research assistant, was the other recipient.

Jerry Hudgins, electrical and computer engineering, will receive the IEEE Industrial Applications Society’s 2018 Distinguished Service Award at the IAS Annual Meeting in Portland, Oregon, Sept. 23-27. The award recognizes exceptional administrative, managerial and leadership achievement; proposal and/or implementation of innovative New Society Programs; and dedication to growing and advancing the society and/or its geographic and technical entities.

Chris Tuan, civil engineering, invented a conductive concrete mixture that Europe’s largest copper producer, Aurubis, has implemented at a site in Bulgaria.

Seven faculty received Holling Family Awards for Teaching Excellence, which honor outstanding teaching in the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the senior and junior levels. Recipients of Senior Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards include:

Recipients of Junior Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards include:

Professional Involvement

Dawne Curry, history and ethnic studies, will conduct a seminar at the University of Ghana as part of the Fulbright Scholar Program’s Africa Regional Travel Program. The Institute of African Studies in Accra will host Curry. Curry is a 2017-2018 Fulbright Scholar at the University of Pretoria in South Africa, where she is researching women’s roles in the country’s political systems.

Brandon Kreiling, construction management, mentored an eight-member student team from the Durham School of Architectural Engineering and Construction that recently brought home a Merit Award from the Associated Schools of Construction Region Six and Seven National Student Competition in Reno, Nevada. It was the College of Engineering’s first team in more than 10 years.

Mark Svoboda, School of Natural Resources and director of the National Drought Mitigation Center, was named to the Science-Policy Interface of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification, composed of science-focused policymakers and scientists working on environmental and climate issues, and representatives of observer organizations like the World Meteorological Organization. Svoboda, an internationally known expert on drought monitoring and early warning, was one of 10 independent scientists recently appointed to the select group.

Publishing Awards

Ann Mari May and Mary McGarvey, economics, along with David Kucera of the International Labor Organization, published a study, “Gender and European Economic Policy: A Survey of the Views of European Economists on Contemporary Economic Policy,” that appeared in the February issue of Kyklos. The study, which found a sizable gender gap in views among economists in Europe on topics such as government intervention, taxes and environmental protection, was featured in the Feb. 15 issue of The Economist. The U.S. counterpart to the study, published in Contemporary Economic Policy in 2013, was cited in a Feb. 5 article in The New York Times.

Ann Mari May, economics, wrote an op-ed, “Women are Missing from Economics. Here’s Why That Matters for All of Us,” for the March 9 edition of HuffPost. The article discusses the lack of women in economics and its impact on research and policy decisions.

Research News Accolades Submission Form

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

* Category of Accolade

The email address provided has already been used to submit a response to this form. If you continue, you may submit conflicting information.

If you would like to update the form responses submitted with this email address, we will send a link to the address provided.

* indicates required field

Back to News for Researchers