Accolades, June 2022

Accolades News for Researchers

Posted July 1, 2022 by Dan Moser

Awards, Honors and Recognitions

Sheri Fritz, Earth and atmospheric sciences/biological sciences, received a Distinguished Fellow Award from the International Biogeography Society. The honor is a senior career award to people who have made an important contribution to the society over time. Fritz’s interests lie at the interface of geological, ecological and atmospheric sciences, and focus specifically on the interaction of lakes with the atmosphere and the land surface, both in contemporary times and during the Quaternary, which shape distributions of the current biodiversity. 

Gary Hein, entomology, has received a Fulbright Specialist Award from the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Hein, a specialist in the biology and ecology of arthropods and epidemiology of arthropod-transmitted plant viruses, spent six weeks in Poland as part of his Fulbright mission. 

Elizabeth Niehaus, educational administration, has been named a Senior Fellow of the University of California’s National Center for Free Speech and Civic Engagement. Niehaus will continue the research she began as a fellow in 2020-21, exploring college students’ moral reasoning around issues of free expression in the classroom, challenging the crisis narrative and providing an evidence-based, nuanced perspective on how students are navigating challenging classroom discussions.  

Jena Asgarpoor, engineering, has received the Keating Award for Innovation and Leadership in Lifelong Learning in Graduate Engineering Education from the American Society for Engineering Education (Graduate Studies Division). The award is given to individuals who, over a period of time, demonstrate commitment and leadership to the division, especially in the area of professional graduate education as was demonstrated by Donald A. Keating, who epitomized the best in innovate graduate engineering education and scholarship.  

Heidi Diefes-Dux, biological systems engineering, has been named a Fellow by the American Society for Engineering Education. Fellows are named for their outstanding contributions to engineering education or engineering technology education and considerable individual contributions to ASEE.  


Alice Kang, political science and ethnic studies, received the C. Herman Pritchett Book Award from the American Political Science Association (law and courts section). The award is given annually for the best book on law and courts written by a political scientist and published the previous year. Kang and her co-authors, Maria Escobar-Lemmon, Valerie Hoekstra and Miki Kittilson, were honored for their book, “Reimagining the Judiciary: Women’s Representation on High Courts Worldwide.” 

Jake Messersmith, management, received the Best Paper Award for HR-Entrepreneurship Research from the Academy of Management (Human Resources Division) for his article titled “Built to Last: A Human Capital Resource Perspective on Diversity and New Venture Survival.”

Research News Accolades Submission Form

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

* Category of Accolade

The email address provided has already been used to submit a response to this form. If you continue, you may submit conflicting information.

If you would like to update the form responses submitted with this email address, we will send a link to the address provided.

* indicates required field

Back to News for Researchers