Accolades, July 2022

Accolades News for Researchers Uncategorized

Posted July 29, 2022 by Dan Moser

Awards, Honors and Recognitions 

Priscilla Grew, earth and atmospheric sciences (emeritus), received a President’s Medal from the Geological Society of America. The medal goes to those whose impact has profoundly enhanced the geoscience profession through supporting and contributing to the society; advancing or promoting the field in service of humankind; or significantly expanding the range of scientific achievement for the growth of the profession.  

Chris Calkins, animal science (emeritus) and Ronald Lewis, animal science, received American Society of Animal Science Fellow Awards for Research during the society’s annual meeting and trade show in May. The award recognizes society members for distinguished service to the animal industry. 

Phillip Miller, animal science, received the American Society of Animal Science’s American Feed Industry Association Award in Nonruminant Nutrition Research. The award, presented during the association’s 2022 annual meeting and trade show, recognizes an individual who has contributed to and published outstanding work in the last 10 years in the field. It is sponsored by the American Feed Industry Association. 

Larkin Powell, natural resources, has been named a fellow of the Wildlife Society for 2022. The award recognizes current society members who have distinguished themselves through exceptional service to the wildlife profession and served as a society member for at least 10 years. Fellows, who are appointed for life, serve as ambassadors of the society and are encouraged to engage in outreach and other activities. 

Margaret Jacobs, history, received a Heartland Emmy: Diversity/Equity/Inclusion Program award from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences’ Heartland Chapter for “Return of the Pawnees,” which tells the story of Roger and Linda Welsch returning their acreage near Dannebrog to its original owners, the Pawnees. Filmmaker Charles Kennedye, a member of the Kiowa Tribe, and journalist Kevin Abourezk, a member of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe, collaborated with Jacobs. 

Jonis Agee, English, received a Literary Contribution Award from the Mountain Plains Library Association. The award recognizes authors whose published writings have successfully furthered an understanding and appreciation of the Mountain Plains region. Agee is the author of 12 books. 


Jena Asgarpoor and Neal Lewis, engineering, received a Best Paper Award in the American Society for Engineering Education’s Engineering Management Division for their paper, “Reclaiming Engineering Management’s Position Among Engineering Disciplines.” Lewis also won the Best Paper Award from the Engineering Economy Division for “Annuities as a Good Course Example.” The paper was co-authored with Ted Eschenbach, professor emeritus at the University of Alaska Anchorage. Lewis and Eschenbach also co-authored a paper that won the EED Best Paper Award at the 2021 virtual conference. That award was presented at the 2022 conference. 

Alok Kumar, marketing, received the Louis W. Stern Award from the American Marketing Association for the paper “Customer Orientation Structure for Internet-Based Business-to-Business Platform Firms.”  

Hamid Bagheri, computing, received the Association for Computing Machinery SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Award for his paper “Combining solution reuse and bound tightening for efficient analysis of evolving systems.” Ph.D. candidate Clay Stevens was co-author. 

Research News Accolades Submission Form

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

* Category of Accolade

The email address provided has already been used to submit a response to this form. If you continue, you may submit conflicting information.

If you would like to update the form responses submitted with this email address, we will send a link to the address provided.

* indicates required field

Back to News for Researchers