Accolades, July 2017

Accolades News for Researchers

Posted August 3, 2017 by Tiffany Lee

Awards, Honors and Recognitions

David DiLillo, psychology, was honored for excellence in mentorship by the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies’ Spotlight on a Mentor program. Students and trainees nominated DiLillo, citing the encouragement, support and education he provides mentees.

Charles Francis, agronomy and horticulture, was honored at the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture conference July 1 with the NACTA Educator Award, which highlights excellence in postsecondary instruction in agriculture.

Dee Griffin, veterinary medicine and biomedical sciences (emeritus), was inducted into the Cattle Feeders Hall of Fame and also received the organization’s Industry Leadership Award. Griffin is widely recognized for his role in founding the nationally known Beef Quality Assurance program, and has been a leader in beef-cattle medicine and beef production systems for over 40 years.

Joe Luck, biological systems engineering, was named Educator/Researcher of the Year by the PrecisionAg Institute, an independent global forum focused on precision agriculture. Luck was honored for his teaching, publications and development of precision agriculture data management workshops offered through Nebraska Extension.

Sheree Moser, child, youth and family studies, was named Region V Postsecondary Teacher of the Year by the Association for Career and Technical Education. She supervises student research, teaches courses in family and consumer sciences education and is active in the ACTE community.

Julie Peterson, entomology and Nebraska Extension, received the Young Alumni Award from Ohio Wesleyan University for her work in ecology and agricultural pest management. The award recognizes post-collegiate excellence in professional work, research, volunteerism and service.

Nathan Putens, University of Nebraska Press, designed a cover for Redskins: Insult and Brand that was honored by AIGA and Design Observer’s annual 50 Books | 50 Covers competition, which reviews and awards the best book and cover designs published over the past year.

Prahalada Rao, mechanical and materials engineering, was one of five recipients of the 2017 Yoram Koren Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer award from the Society of Mechanical Engineers. The honor recognizes engineers 35 years or younger who have made exceptional contributions and accomplishments in the manufacturing industry.

Mona Schoenrock, teaching, learning and teacher education, was named Nebraska Teacher Educator of the Year by the Association for Career and Technical Education. She was honored for strengthening the connection between career and technical education programs of study and improving college and career readiness. 

Cheryl Turner, training specialist with the Center on Children, Families and the Law, was named one of seven Trauma Informed Care Pioneers in Education by the Beyond Consequences Institute. The award recognizes her ongoing work in trauma training, assessment and consulting for Lincoln Public Schools.

Gary Zoubek, Nebraska Extension (emeritus), received the Hall of Fame Award from the National Association of County Agricultural Agents, one of the highest honors in extension education. One person from each of the four NACAA regions receives this award each year.

Professional Involvement

Lily Wang, architectural engineering and construction, was named president-elect of the Acoustical Society of America for the 2017-2018 term. The group, formed in 1929, has about 7,000 members devoted to studies of noise, its measurement and effects, and reducing noise to improve the human environment.

Publishing Awards

Jonis Agee, English, is author of a book, The Bones of Paradise, that has been named one of three finalists in the fiction category for the 2017 High Plains Book Awards, which recognize regional literary works that examine and reflect life on the High Plains.

Kelsy Burke, sociology, received the American Sociology Association’s 2017 Distinguished Book Award in the “Sociology of Religion” category. Her book, Christians Under Covers, focuses on the phenomenon of Christian sex advice websites.

Gabriel Houck, English, received the 2017 Orison Fiction Prize for his story collection You or a Loved One. Orison Books will publish the collection and award him a $1,500 honorarium.

Kristen Olson, sociology, won the Collaborative Research Award from the International Journal of Market Research, which honors the best article published in the journal that was written collaboratively between academia and private industry. Olson wrote “Evaluating Data Quality in Reports of Sales in a Retail Establishment Survey” with Xiaoyu Lin and Tim Banks of Nielsen, a global information, data and measurement company.

Research News Accolades Submission Form

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

* Category of Accolade

The email address provided has already been used to submit a response to this form. If you continue, you may submit conflicting information.

If you would like to update the form responses submitted with this email address, we will send a link to the address provided.

* indicates required field

Back to News for Researchers