Department COVID-19 Updates:
COVID-19 Research Planning UNL IRB COVID-19 response

Accolades, January 2021

Accolades News for Researchers

January 29, 2021

Awards, Honors and Recognition 

Alexei Gruvermanphysics and astronomy, received the Humboldt Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The honor goes to up to 100 people per year, recognizing researchers whose fundamental discoveries, theories or insights have had — and will continue to have — a significant impact in their field. Recipients are invited to carry out research projects in cooperation with specialist colleagues in Germany. Gruverman specializes in condensed matter and materials physics. His group is focused on fundamental studies of nanoscale physical phenomena in electronic and polar materials by means of scanning probe microscopy techniques. 

James Le Sueur, chair of history, received the Feather Award for Best Documentary at the Karama Human Rights Film Festival in Amman, Jordan, for his documentary, “The Art of Dissent.” It is another in a series of awards for the film, which earned accolades at the Big Apple Film Festival and the NUtech Ventures annual awards ceremony late last year. 

Chigozie Obioma, English, has been named a 2021 Booker Prize judge. The prize is one of literature’s top international awards, recognizing outstanding fiction in the English-speaking world. Obioma is among only a handful of authors who have been shortlisted twice, and he accomplished it with back-to-back novels. 

Jian Wang, mechanical and materials engineering, was named a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The ASME Committee of Past Presidents confers fellowship status to worthy candidates to recognize their outstanding engineering achievements. Nominated by ASME members and fellows, an ASME member must have 10 or more years of active practice and at least 10 years of active corporate membership in ASME. 

Laurence Rilett, civil and environmental engineering and director of both the Mid-America Transportation Center and Nebraska Transportation Center, has been elected to fellow status by the American Society of Civil Engineers. This group is recognized for having “made celebrated contributions and developed creative solutions that have enhanced lives.” Only 3% of ASCE members are chosen to receive this status. Known for his expertise in transportation system analysis, Rilett primarily focuses his research on intelligent transportation systems applications and large-scale transportation system modeling. 

Jamie Reimer Seaman, music, has been awarded the International Alliance for Women in Music Programming Award for 2020. This new annual award and recognition program honors and endorses those performers who have made a deliberate, conscious effort to achieve greater gender equity in their programming by including women composers and/or performers. Reimer Seaman, a soprano, has performed in opera, oratorio and recital venues around the U.S., Italy, Germany, Brazil and Australia. 


Florin Bobaru, mechanical and materials engineering, has been awarded the 2020 Corrosion Best Paper Award from NACE International for “Peridynamic Modeling of Repassivation in Pitting Corrosion of Stainless Steel,” published in the journal Corrosion. Graduate students Siavash Jafarzadeh and  Ziguang Chen were co-authors. 


Research News Accolades Submission Form

You have not filled in all of the required fields. Please fill in the fields below outlined in red.

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

First Name

Last Name

Department Name

Email Address

Category of Accolade

Name of honor or award and short description

Accompanying website, if available

Back to News for Researchers