Accolades, February 2021

Accolades News for Researchers

Posted February 26, 2021 by Tiffany Lee

Awards, Honors and Recognition

Lindsey Bahe, architecture, received the Teaching Excellence Award from the Interior Design Educators Council. The award recognizes an individual or team’s success in developing or delivering a specific educational experience that results in exceptional student learning. Bahe was recognized for establishing an actionable core mission for the university’s interior design program that emphasizes creative problem solving and spans the program’s interior design studio sequence.

Carrick Detweiler, computer science and engineering, was elected a senior member of the National Academy of Inventors. Senior membership recognizes early-stage innovators and inventors whose success in patents, licensing and commercialization has the potential to positively impact the welfare of society. Detweiler is a nationally recognized expert in research and technology focused on using drone systems to enable safer, less costly approaches to fighting wildfires. To commercialize the work he’s done in his Nebraska Intelligent MoBile Unmanned Systems Lab, he co-founded Drone Amplified, for which he serves as CEO. The company aims to reduce fire danger through a drone-based system that enables the remote ignition of controlled burns.

Crystal Garcia, educational administration, received the Emerging Scholars Award from the American College Personnel Association. The award supports, encourages and honors early-career individuals who are emerging as contributors to student affairs and higher education scholarship and who have successfully fulfilled a two-year period of research and scholarly leadership commitments that align with the ACPA’s mission, interests and strategic goals.

Marc Goodrich, special education and communication disorders, received the Rebecca L. Sandak Young Investigator Award from the Society for the Scientific Study of Reading. The award recognizes a gifted young reading researcher who shows outstanding promise and dedication to the field. Goodrich leads the Bilingual Early Language and Literacy Lab, where his research focuses on methods of identifying risk for reading difficulty among young Spanish-speaking children.

Patricio Grassini, agronomy and horticulture, received the 2020 Werner L. Nelson Award for Diagnosis of Yield-Limiting Factors by the American Society of Agronomy. The award recognizes Grassini’s creativity and innovation in the development, acceptance and implementation of diagnostic services in higher, more profitable crop production. Grassini was honored during the society’s annual meeting Nov. 11, 2020.

Robert Hutkins, food science and technology, co-led an international panel of 13 scientists who reported a consensus definition of fermented foods in Nature Reviews Gastroenterology and Hepatology. The panel, convened by the International Scientific Association for Probiotics and Prebiotics, also provided guidance to public health professionals, consumers and other scientists about the role of fermentation microbes and their metabolic products on the gut microbiome and human health.

Alok Kumar, marketing, was recognized for his contributions to research and discovery in the marketing field according to a ranking by the American Marketing Association. The list placed Kumar in the top 47 most-productive scholars of 2020 according to number of publications over a 10-year period in the premier journals of the American Marketing Association, which include the Journal of Marketing and the Journal of Marketing Research.

Michael Lippman, classics and religious studies, received the Award for Excellence in College Teaching from the Classical Association of the Middle West and South. The award recognizes outstanding instructors of the classics based on a range of criteria, including engaging a broad range of students, being recognized as a leader and providing honest and constructive feedback. Lippman was selected for the innovative design of his Athens and Sparta course and for his ability to make classics accessible, engaging and meaningful to a broad spectrum of students.

Jamie Reimer Seaman, music, received the Programming Award from the International Alliance for Women in Music. The award honors performers who have made deliberate, conscious efforts to achieve greater gender equality in their programming by including women composers and/or performers.   

Yujia Wang, landscape architecture, was one of 300 individuals named to the Forbes China 30 Under 30 list, a group of exceptional young people in various fields across that nation. Wang is the first landscape architect to be selected for the list. Selection was based on impact, accomplishment and innovation. One of Wang’s most notable projects was the Chongqing Twin River Four Bank Landscape Vision, a re-envisioning of the city’s entire riverfront to invite connectivity, cultural identity, activities and ecological restoration all at once. He’s also been involved in a number of initiatives related to STEM education, equity, inclusion and climate.

Thyreos, a startup co-founded by Gary Pickard, veterinary medicine and biomedical sciences, received $750,000 to support the commercialization of a vaccine platform that protects cattle and hogs against species-specific herpesviruses. Invest Nebraska, a nonprofit organization on Nebraska Innovation Campus that assists local entrepreneurs and invests in companies with growth potential, led the fundraising effort. Click here to learn more about the vaccine platform, which has also shown promise against the sexually transmitted HSV-2 in humans.

Professional Service

Jennifer Davidson, economics, recently testified to the Nebraska Legislature’s education committee in support of two bills intended to improve Nebraska’s K-12 students’ personal finance skills.

Kathy Farrell, finance and James Jr. and Susan Stuart Endowed Dean of the College of Business, was appointed to the Board of Trustees of Bryan Health.

Christal Sheppard, law, is under consideration for a position in the Biden administration. Multiple online publications have reported that Sheppard, a distinguished fellow in the Nebraska Governance and Technology Center, is among a pool of candidates for the position of undersecretary of commerce for intellectual property and director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office. Sheppard joined the College of Law in 2011 after more than two decades of science and intellectual property law and policy work. At Nebraska, she co-founded a program of concentrated study in intellectual property law and, in 2015, was named director of the first U.S. Patent and Trademark Office outside of Washington, D.C.


David Yuill, architectural engineering, along with Mehdi Mehrabi, a mechanical engineer with Paradigm Consulting Engineers, received the Science and Technology for the Built Environment Best Paper Award from the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers. Their paper, published in July 2019, is called “Fouling and Its Effects on Air-cooled Condensers in Split System Air Conditioners.”

Research News Accolades Submission Form

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

* Category of Accolade

The email address provided has already been used to submit a response to this form. If you continue, you may submit conflicting information.

If you would like to update the form responses submitted with this email address, we will send a link to the address provided.

* indicates required field

Back to News for Researchers