Accolades, December 2022

Accolades News for Researchers

Posted January 6, 2023 by Tiffany Lee

Awards, Honors and Recognitions

Richard Bischoff, associate vice chancellor for faculty and academic leader success in the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, was honored by the Food Systems Leadership Institute for completing its executive leadership development program and for other contributions to professional organizations, higher education and food systems. As a fellow of the FSLI, Bischoff participated in a two-year program aimed at enhancing leadership ability, developing skills and knowledge for organizational change, and broadening perspectives on integrated food systems. He was honored during a ceremony at the annual meeting of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities.   

Kristen Blankley, law, was selected for the inaugural Pro Bono Honor Roll sponsored by the Association of American Law Schools. The honor roll recognizes the exceptional work of individuals engaging in, expanding and/or supporting their law school community in providing pro bono legal services. Blankley focuses her pro bono work on online mediation services that reach underserved populations in rural Nebraska. She can mediate more than 50 cases per year, many of which help parents resolve difficult issues, including parenting across significant distances, involvement of other family members in children’s lives and tax issues. Nebraska’s Kala Mueller and Jordan Mason were also named to the honor roll.      

Justin Bradley, computing, was elected an associate fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. This designation is for individuals who have accomplished or been in charge of important engineering or scientific work, who have done original work of outstanding merit, or who have otherwise made outstanding contributions to the arts, sciences or technology of aeronautics or astronautics. Bradley co-directs the Nebraska Intelligent MoBile Unmanned Systems Lab and focuses his research on the intersection of control and computing, with applications in aerospace and robotic vehicles.  

Ronald Faller, civil and environmental engineering and director of the Midwest Roadside Safety Facility, was selected as a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. This designation, the highest professional distinction accorded solely to academic inventors, highlights people with a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have tangibly impacted quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society. For more than 35 years, Faller has played a key role in developing numerous roadside safety technologies and innovative safety features that have been deployed nationally and globally, saving the lives of motorists around the world. He will be inducted in June during a ceremony at the NAI annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Kacie McCarthy and Yijie Xiong, animal science, were awarded endowments for their work in the beef industry during the annual 2022 Nebraska Cattlemen Convention. McCarthy, a cow-calf extension specialist, received the Nebraska Beef Industry Endowment, which provides grants to beef industry-related research and/or teaching positions at post-secondary educational institutions in Nebraska. Xiong, a precision livestock management extension specialist, received the Nebraska Range and Conservation Endowment, which provides grants to range management and conservation research and teaching positions at post-secondary educational institutions in Nebraska.

Troy Smith, management, was named by Poets&Quants as one of the top 50 undergraduate business professors of 2022. He is the first Husker College of Business professor to earn a spot on the list. Smith was selected from among 500 nominations from students, alumni, colleagues and school deans. He currently teaches Managing Behavior in Organizations and Negotiation and Conflict Resolution at Nebraska and said he tries to avoid lecturing to students, instead focusing on experiential learning, reflection and conversation.     

Other News

Jeff Bradshaw, entomology, is the new director of the university’s Doctor of Plant Health Program, which trains students from across the various disciplines that impact plant health and management. Bradshaw, who is based at the Panhandle Research, Extension and Education Center in Scottsbluff, took the post Jan. 1 and said he is excited to strengthen the program’s ties to agribusiness, generate more student internship opportunities and develop new microcredentials for professionals. He succeeds Gary Hein, the program’s founding director, who retired at the end of 2022.  

Research News Accolades Submission Form

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

* Category of Accolade

The email address provided has already been used to submit a response to this form. If you continue, you may submit conflicting information.

If you would like to update the form responses submitted with this email address, we will send a link to the address provided.

* indicates required field

Back to News for Researchers