Accolades, April 2021

News for Researchers

Posted April 30, 2021 by Dan Moser

Awards, Honors and Recognition

Judy Walker, Aaron Douglas Professor of mathematics and associate vice chancellor for faculty and academic affairs, has been named a recipient of the 2021 Outstanding Achievement Award given to alumni by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Department of Mathematics. The award recognizes her career, leadership and contributions to the advancement of mathematics and inclusion.  

Robyn Benes, Bureau of Sociological Research, won the annual Tarnai Scholarship. Presented by the Association of Academic Survey Research Organizations, the scholarship is reserved for especially promising early-career survey research workers. Benes is the second BOSR staff member to earn the award. 

Nevin Lawrence, agronomy and horticulture, has been recognized by the Western Society of Weed Science as the Outstanding Weed Scientist – Early Career. This award recognizes outstanding achievements in weed science for an individual within 10 years of their terminal degree. It recognizes innovative or unique approaches in the public or private sector that result in learning, ability to clearly communicate ideas and motivation of the intended audience. 

Carl Nelson, mechanical and materials engineering, has been named a fellow in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers in recognition of outstanding engineering achievements. Fellows must be in active practice and an active ASME corporate member for at least 10 years before receiving the honor. 

Jessica Shoemaker, law, been named a 2021 Andrew Carnegie Fellow, only the second Nebraska faculty member to be so honored. Shoemaker will spend the next two years on her project titled “Remaking a Land of Opportunity: America’s Rural Future.” 

Stephanie Bondi, educational administration, has received the inaugural Diversity Leadership Faculty Award from the Office of Diversity and Inclusion, which honors a faculty member who has demonstrated a significant contribution toward creating a diverse and inclusive university community through the implementation of policies, research, procedures, initiatives and/or programs that reflect the university’s core values and beliefs. Bondi’s research focuses on teaching and learning; student affairs preparation; dominance, equity and oppression; and neocolonialism.  

Twelve researchers from the College of Education and Human Sciences were among the top 2% of the most cited researchers worldwide throughout their careers, according to a Stanford University study that released a list of the top 100,000 scientists across disciplines.  

Honored for their career-long impact: Yiqi Yang, textiles, merchandising and fashion design; Janos Zempleni, nutrition and health sciences; Ken Kiewra, educational psychology; Sue Sheridan, educational psychology, director, Nebraska Center for Research on Children, Youth, Families and Schools, and associate dean of research, College of Education and Human Sciences; Bob Reid (emeritus), special education and communication disorders; Ron Nelson, special education and communication disorders; Mike Epstein (emeritus), special education and communication disorders; Sue Swearer, educational psychology; Terry Gutkin (emeritus), educational psychology; and John Maag, special education and communication disorders. 

Honored for single-year impact: Katie Edwards, educational psychology; Rich Torraco (emeritus), educational administration; ZempleniSwearer; and Sheridan

Wendy Katz and Ash Eliza Smith, art, art history and design, received, respectively, the Senior Faculty and Junior Faculty Research and Creative Activity Awards from the Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts. The awards recognize faculty members who have demonstrated exemplary accomplishment in research or creative activity. Katz completed two book projects in 2020, and Smith was honored for her expertise in storytelling and drawing upon interdisciplinary research collaborations to inform her work.   

Professional Service

Casey Hoeve, University Libraries, has been elected to serve on a leadership team for the Collection Development Officer/Electronic Resource Officer group, coordinated by the Big Ten Academic Alliance. The team will help guide the conversation on leading the Big Ten libraries into new areas of collaboration, sustainability, and supportive and diverse collections. 

Richard A. Leiter, law and director of the Schmid Law Library, has been named a member of the U.S. Government Publishing Office’s Depository Library Council for the 2021-2024 term. DLC serves as an advisory committee to the director, GPO and superintendent of documents. 


Eve Brank, psychology, has received the Lawrence S. Wrightsman Book Award from the American Psychology-Law Society for her book “The Psychology of Family Law.” The award recognizes outstanding scholarly books that span the topics of law and psychology. 


Nebraska’s School of Accountancy is No. 2 in the Big Ten in the latest rankings, placing it in the top 15% for faculty research among more than 600 national and international institutions measured. Nebraska earned the recognition based on the total research output of the school’s faculty in the top 12 peer-reviewed accounting journals.  

Back to News for Researchers