Accolades, February 2020

Accolades News for Researchers

Posted February 28, 2020 by Dan Moser

Awards, Honors and Recognitions

Mark Griep, chemistry, has earned the Champion of History Award from History Nebraska for his research on Rachel Lloyd, a pioneering University of Nebraska-Lincoln chemistry professor. The Champion of History Award, formally the Robert W. Furnas Memorial Award, recognizes outstanding contributions by an individual or organization who helps preserve or interpret Nebraska history. 

Kenneth Kiewra, educational psychology, has been named 2020 Chess Educator of the Year by the University of Texas at Dallas Chess Program. Kiewra received the recognition for his research into how parents can develop their children’s talent and encourage chess learning. He was honored at the ChessFest awards ceremony Feb. 25 in Dallas. 

Ronald Faller, Midwest Roadside Safety Facility, has received the Transportation Research Board’s 2020 Kenneth A. Stonex Roadside Safety Award, given annually for lifetime contributions to roadside safety. 

Michael Sealy, mechanical and materials engineering, has been chosen to receive the Society of Manufacturing Engineers’ 2020 Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award. Sealy is one of 15 up-and-coming manufacturing engineers, age 35 or younger, who was chosen to receive the award for having made significant technological and process improvement advancements across a variety of industries, including health care, automotive, aerospace, energy and mining. 

Sam Wortman, agronomy and horticulture, and Rebecca Roston, biochemistry, are the recipients of the 2019 Junior Faculty Excellence in Research Award from the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources’ Agricultural Research Division. The award is given annually to tenure-track assistant professors with an ARD appointment and a maximum of five years of professional service at the university. Recipients are honored based on publication record, evidence of external funding activity and peer recognition. 

Six faculty and staff members in the College of Arts and Sciences have received awards for advancing the mission of the university through teaching, research and service. Saravanan Raju, computer science and engineering, won the CAS Engagement Award. Joy Castro, English and ethnic studies, received the Hazel R. McClymont Distinguished Teaching Fellow Award. Rebecca Lai, chemistry; Philip Schwadel, sociology; Jay Storz, biological sciences; and Adrian Wisnicki, English, received the College Outstanding Research and Creative Activity Award. 

Other News 

Tom Burkey, animal science, was named interim associate dean for graduate education and partnership engagement for the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources. In this role, Burkey will provide leadership for graduate education within the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources.  

Jacqueline Mattingly, music, is associate dean for student affairs in the Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts. In this newly created role, Mattingly will focus on student affairs, diversity and inclusion, student success, retention and advising. She previously was director of instrumental activities at the University of North Carolina Asheville. 

Research News Accolades Submission Form

Accolades are compiled from faculty and staff nominations, weekly Achievement columns published by University Communication, and college, center and departmental websites. To submit yours or a colleague's, complete the form below.

* Category of Accolade

The email address provided has already been used to submit a response to this form. If you continue, you may submit conflicting information.

If you would like to update the form responses submitted with this email address, we will send a link to the address provided.

* indicates required field

Back to News for Researchers