As part of its strategic plan, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln set a goal to increase the number faculty receiving external honors and awards by 10% annually on a three-year rolling average.

The following list includes selected major awards and accomplishments from fiscal year 2023.

Oleh Khalimonchuk, Susan J. Rosowski Professor of Biochemistry
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Richard Wilson, professor of plant pathology
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Ronald Faller, Willa Cather Research Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Fellow, National Academy of Inventors

Martha Mamo, John E. Weaver Professor of Agronomy and Horticulture
Fellow, American Society of Agronomy

Nathan Conner, professor of agricultural leadership, education and communication
Fulbright U.S. Scholar Award

Jody Koenig Kellas, Willa Cather Professor of Communication Studies
Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication, National Communication Association

Casey Kelly, professor of communication studies
Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression, National Communication Association

Yiqi Yang, Charles Bessey Professor of Textiles, Merchandising and Fashion Design
Olney Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Textile Science, American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists

Wei Qiao, Clyde Hyde Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Senior Member, National Academy of Inventors

Andrea Basche, associate professor of agronomy and horticulture
Early Career Award, American Society of Agronomy

Aziza Cyamani, assistant professor of architecture
Young Educator Award, Industrial Designers Society of America