Call for nominations January 2015

The Research Council is soliciting nominations for the 2015-2016 Nebraska Lectures: Chancellor’s Distinguished Lecture Series. One Nebraska Lecture is scheduled for each semester. These are high profile public events and represent the highest recognition the Research Council can bestow upon an individual faculty member. In collaboration with the Office of Research and Economic Development, the Research Council established this lecture series in 2003. The purpose is to feature the significant achievements and contributions made by University of Nebraska-Lincoln faculty, to foster communication among students and faculty in different academic disciplines, and to present topics of public interest in a format that will attract a wide audience, including the local community and members of the legislature. The most recent four prestigious lectures included Drs. Dennis Molfese, Stephen Behrendt, Susan Swearer, and Timothy Gay. The Spring 2015 Nebraska Lecture will feature Dr. Daniel Claes, Physics and Astronomy.

The Research Council and the Vice Chancellor for Research and Economic Development need your help in identifying and nominating candidates for these prestigious lectures.

Please encourage nominations in your unit. Criteria for selection are 1) major recent accomplishment(s) that support a distinguished record, and 2) ability to communicate to an interdisciplinary audience. The nominee should be nationally or internationally prominent in his or her field.

To nominate a faculty member, please send electronically to Mari Greer (, Office of Research and Economic Development) a nomination letter and the nominee’s CV that includes significant scholarly accomplishments with emphasis on the past five years. To be considered, nominations must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., Monday, March 2, 2015. Nominations will be kept confidential. The Research Council and the Vice Chancellor for Research and Economic Development will select the lecturers. Chosen lecturers will be notified immediately thereafter.

The venue for the Lectures is usually the Nebraska Union Auditorium. The suggested format for the lecture is a 35-40 minute formal presentation delivered in a style that would be accessible to the general public followed by a 15-20-minute question-and-answer session. A reception will follow the lecture to allow interested students, faculty and visitors to meet the distinguished lecturer.

Dr. Tala Awada, Chair, UNL Research Council
School of Natural Resources
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
807 Hardin Hall
Lincoln NE 68583-0989
Phone: 402-472-0232